Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mudge_gw

Topiary Buxus & Lonicera

mudge
21 years ago

I have a 25cm tall buxus in a pot which is about 3 years old. When it was very young, I cut a couple of it's lower branches in an attempt to encourage a ball. As a complete novice to this art, what do I do now? Do I continue to decrease the number of branches and will it eventually grow tall as I have seen in garden centres? I also have a tiny Lonicera plant that I would like to "standardise" and wish to know how to do this. Thank you in anticipation.

Comments (3)

• Bryan_FGS
    20 years ago

To make a ball you have to keep snipping the tips of new shoots so it will become thicker, then you can start shaping it until it forms a ball. If you want it to be tall just prune it a little higher each time you prune it, it will eventually become taller over time. For a standard, try and let a single stem grow upwards and nip off any side shoots until it reaches towards the height that you want it to be. As it grows taller, nip off any shoots that grow from the bottom. You might want to stake it now, so it will have support while it is growing , otherwise it might flop over.
    Bryan

• julieNY
    20 years ago