Return to the Topiary Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Copper tubing as a form

Posted by
Veronica - 13
(veronicaw@calexico.k12.ca.us) on
Fri, Apr 14, 00 at 15:48

Hi! I've been dabbling in topiary for a couple of years now. Just small stuff in pots, usually scented geraniums, though I've had fun with shaping thyme and lavender plants. My question concerns one of my most recent projects; variegated lemon crispum pelargonium trained onto some thin copper tubing I shaped into an R. The tubing seems to be working quite well; nice and sturdy, and it was easy to work with. My concern is how it will age below the soil. Does anyone know whether it will fall apart in a couple of years?

Thanks,

Veronica

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Copper tubing as a form

Hi, Veronica, I've seen some other posts about copper tubing, but usually as trellises or arbors. Try a whole-site search on "copper", or try searching the Garden Structures or Garden Accoutrements forums. Good luck!

o

I use Heavy gauge copper wire in training a lot, I really like the greenish color it takes on, and copper breaks down much more slowly than steel. Even smaller thicknesses of copper are unchanged except for color after 12 years in my older plants.

o

• Posted by
    Janet Butts - 8b SW BC
    (tjb@axionet.com) on
    Sat, Apr 29, 00 at 5:53

Veronica, how do you make a topiary of scented geranium? I bought one for the first time a few weeks ago, and it's still living in my front room until the weather is fit to put it out. But I was just planning to put it into a mixed container-- I'd much rather do something more decorative! So PLEEEEASE, what should I do next? It's only about 5" high so far.
Thanks.
Janet.

o

Hello, and thanks for the info, it's good to know the copper won't disappear half-way through training.