Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lois_scissorhands

Freeform Topiary Sculpture

lois_scissorhands
20 years ago

it appears there are many of you out there that are interested and knowlegable about topiary. does anybody not use wire frames? i have been snipping for about 15 yrs. i have toured wholesale and retail nurseries all over western canada and NWusa and have never seen wire frame topiaries.

i have much info to share. any response would be appreciated.

Comments (14)

• Lizabet
    20 years ago

I'm relatively new to this. I have two topiaries in training. I've been working on both for three years. The first is a boxwood dragon, using a frame as a guide. I'm really surprised a the speed it's neck and tail are filling in. I get a lot of comments on it.

The second is an arborvitae that I'm trying to train as a rooster. It doesn't have a wire form. I'm trying to do it free form. But what a challenge! It is much more difficult to keep it looking discernably like a rooster. Naturally, it is the more obvious one being about 9 ft at the top of its head. If you have any hint on how to keep it in shape I'd appreciate it. Now that I've been pruning it for a couple of years the growth at the end of the branches is so thick that it weighs the branch down and it sticks out awkwardly. If I just try shearing it, all the growth gets loped off and it leaves a bare spot.

If you are looking for a frame they are available on the net or ebay.

• lois_scissorhands
    Original Author
    20 years ago

your dragon sounds interesting. i've done a few shapes from box, i'm working on a heron for a friend. i did a swan with just one wire to get the curve in the neck.
    what var. of arb. is your rooster? i've worked with many,emerald green,brandon, and holmstruppi for spirals. globe woodwardii is great for cubes, easy for hearts clubs diamonds & spades. you may want to try staking the heavy branches on your rooster until they are strong enough to hold the wieght.