Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lori_7

Spiral ornamentals

Lori - 7
23 years ago

Does anyone know how to cut an evergreen such as an arborvatie into a spiral design? It is the formal look that I need but they are so expensive that I thought to cut one myself out of a standard taller evergreen. Can someone provide me with any information on how to do this or recommend any books that may show this? I can not find any how to on this type of topiary. T.I.A.

Comments (9)

• tony - 8b - Vancouver
    23 years ago

I too am thinking of spiralling some of my Cedrus, but I think Arborvitae (aka Thuja occidentalis) my be too loose and not full enough to give it proper shape. I think you need a hedge plant that is more compact than some of the more common Arborvitaes. Perhaps yours is a very compact growing variety.

I saw a show once on PBS about 4 years ago about a self taught topiary artist who used nothing but a 16inch chainsaw. He would literally carve out his shapes, not unlike ice sculptures, in a matter of minutes. Granted the more he carved out the more the exposed dead wood showed, but it all grows back.

He was not some hack that had nothing better to do. His designs were displayed in a garden of about 4 or 5 acres, and he has won awards for his topiaries. Not just small ones, but big 10 foot and more specimens. Plus PBS showed him on TV, so he must have a good reputation.

He even demonstrated a spiral topiary in front of the camera, and used his chainsaw to shape it in about 2 minutes.

Maybe there is some inspiration there for you. good luck. If you do proceed. Let us know how it turns out.

I think this is a new forum on the Garden Web. Not much action here.

• kari
    23 years ago

Have you had any luck with this so far? I would like to do this as well. I wondered if it could be done and have no experience in this area.
    TIA-Kari

• kaye
    23 years ago

Lori ,