Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caroles_jungle

Make some of your own topiary frames

caroles_jungle
21 years ago

I am a newbie to topiary... and I am sure my ideas are not new but it might save some of you a couple of dollars. I cannot afford expensive frames and have very little artistic talent but I do have an active imagination. Last month I saw a neighbor kid dragging his hugh teddy bear down the street. The bear was as big as the little boy. So I thought why not go to the thrift stores for stuff toys to use as molds for frames! How difficult can it be??

I found bears, elephants and lots of other toys I can wrap wire around for a topiary mold. I found a kid size toy plastic train that was falling apart but will stay together for a wire mold too. There were other objects I can also wrap with wire... like a cracked swan planter, a broken garden statute. The cost is $1.00 to $3.00 with some of the larger ones up to a biggie $5.00 purchase.

I bought green plastic coated fencing wire (at Home Depot) to be placed over the larger objects and these molds will go over a live bush. On the smaller molds, I will use chicken wire... stuff with moss... and wrap with fishing line if needed. The chicken wire will be spray painted green before stuffing. Have you ever wondered where those nurseries and internet sellers buy the moss to sell to you? Well they buy from a florist supply house. Some of them will sell to the happy homeowner too. I found I can buy a hugh 3.5 cubic foot bag of Sphagnum moss for a lot less than I would have to pay for lots of little bags at Home Depot.

A friend has a life size stuffed tiger and a life size stuffed alligator!! She said I could make a mold from these too.