Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edhann

How to make gigantic topiaries

edhann
19 years ago

I am a newbie to topiaries.. I design gardens but Im getting interested in topiaries as some form of garden accent or highlight.

Anybody know how do they make gigantic topiaries in Disneyland and in some Canada Parks? Topiaries of gigantic sizes reaching up to 20-30 feet. How do they maintain them..

Ed

Comments (7)

• Jungle_Jim
    19 years ago

I believe those huge topiaries at theme parks are all done around metal frames. Seems to me I caught a glimpse of one.
    Jim

• ianna
    19 years ago

Ed,

I believe you are referring to large metal frames, covered with wire, filled with peat moss and other soilless mixes and imbeded with plants. Mondo grass for eyes or hair, succulents, creeping plants (in Asia, creeping fig is ideal)

It's a lot of maintenance. Plants require trimming every week, liquid fertilizers and replacements. Most displays have greenhouses with supplies readily available to replace dying plants to keep the display looking refreshed. Watering is carefully monitored.

• myohhmy
    19 years ago

Best advice is to start off small and build up as your confidence and skill grows!

Many more managable topiaries are a better way to start!

• drasaid
    19 years ago

Make a thing, stick them on it.
    A Ball'O Bromiliads was a popular hanging plant when I was a kid (people used Hurricane Balls, which were freaks of Hurricane Camille. Plant matter was compacted together and you could grow things on it.)
    So you could make an object and cover it with bromileads. Or succulents. Or lots of little cacti.
    A lot of people here still have a wall'O Bromiliads where they are growing in driftwood instead of Hurricane Balls.
    Give it a go.
    Not a true topiary, but hey, it's fast and colorful.

• ianna
    19 years ago