Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xtal_gw

How long do wire frames last?

I'm a newbie here and figure that I've got one good topiary in me. I'd like to do a couple of horses, one possibly rearing or running. I figure that chicken wite is the best way to build up the body. I suppose I'd have to get the body welded to start considering that this may weighty. Does anyone know how long angle iron would last in that situation? Or how long any wire can be expected to last once it's completed and has ivy growing in it? How many years of enjoyment could I expect?

Any input you'd have would be appreciated.

Xtal

Comments (4)

• mrbrownthumb
    18 years ago

Are you thinking of doing a stuffed frame or doing something that is growing a shurb to cover it, and keeping the shrub trimmed to the shape? If you're going to grow something around it then it won't really matter. But some people make detachable frames so it can be removed once the plant has grown to the desired proportions.

I'm not sure how long a stuffed frame would last but it should be years. You could treat the wire with something like rostoleum.

MrBrownThumb

• Xtal in Central TX, zone 8b
    Original Author
    18 years ago

As I figure that there is at least one or two good topiary tries in me, I wanted to make the effort worthwhile. I'd like to do several horses that I could put in the side yard. I'd probably need to stick with the type of frame that could be moved, too.

I hadn't thought about using Rustoleum, Mr. Brownthumb. Good idea!!

Being an artist has given me several ideas of things that I want to try. I guess it's just "doing it" now as Nike would say.

Xtal

• twogreysandamutt
    18 years ago

how long any wire can be expected to last once it's completed and has ivy growing in it? How many years of enjoyment could I expect?