Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cans66

Best Fertilizer for Green Giant Arborvitae (Thuja Green Giant)

cans66
10 years ago

I have been planting the above over the last three years and plantings have amounted to 20 trees over 195 linear feet. I was reading directions on a bag on 10 10 10 fertilizer and the supplier indicated to fertilize at the rate of 1 to 1 1/2/lbs for evergreens and hedges per 100 sq. ft. My question is, how do I apply to the running foot? I do not want to over/under fertilize. Also, I just recently planted the last four trees and the balance, 16, were planted over the last three years. Is there a one year waiting period prior to fertilizing? I am relatively new to this, so, PLEASE HELP.
Is this the best fertilizer for this tree and fast growth?

Comments (5)

• Toronado3800 Zone 6 St Louis
    10 years ago

To be real scientific you need to have the soil tested. Otherwise it is kinda a crap shoot.

FWIW my neighbor just throws maricle grow on everything and it seems to work for him.

I don't fertilize anything because I am scared of growing a forty foot tree that needs me to fertilize it every year for eternity else it dies lol.

• bajafx4
    10 years ago