Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judithva_gw

Need help making an tropical outdoor shower area

judithva
17 years ago

Hi this is my first time posting here.

I am in zone 7, Virgina. I want to make a out-door shower area surrounded by tropical plants. Some plants that I am thinking of are:

clumping bamboo (I have now in pot)

elephant ears

tall bannana plants at least 3

some kind of Palm (at Wally world they have "King Palm and Sago palm)

some lower ground plants - potato vine?

Description of area:

currently on the left side is a wood fence. Facing where the shower nozzel will be is about 12ft of brick wall. (this wall/area receives alot of sun) I will be building the rest of the enclosure (I am thinking bamboo fence you can buy in rolls)for privacy later after planting is done. So I am estimating the size will be 12ft x 6ft.

So does anyone have any other ideas for plants?

Where can I buy the bannana plants, I have not seen any at the big box stores yet?

Most importantly, how do I prepare the ground? (we have clay here)

Any other ideas you have will be most welcome.

Judith

Comments (22)

• judithva
    Original Author
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

This is a picture of the area I am talking about.

a href="http://photobucket.com"; target="_blank">{{gwi:1302158}}

• paul_tropics
    17 years ago

How about some Cannas, several hardy kind out there, I have some against my house but I do not know what kind they are ... they have very dark, redish leaves with yellow and orange flowers, grow about 5-7 feet tall ... come back each year with some mulch winter protection .. how about a needle palm or some larger sabal minor palm
    Lots of places on line to buy ... clumping bamboo is nice, I'm trying some this year as well, problem with clumping bamboo is that they tend to not like our humid summers or exposure to full sun ... if its not to cold around here its to hot and humid for some of these plants .. go figure.

• judithva