Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
onmedic_gw

Canadian Tropics

OnMedic
19 years ago

First Post! Yipeee!

I am new to this and want to start slow. I have designated a small garden bed for the tropical experiment that I hope some here can help me with! It is about 2 ft. x 7 ft. A picture of it can be seen at the following link, don't mind the unfinished deck and construction, it has moved beyong that stage.

Where do I start? Can I start this in late July, or do I need to do it in the spring? I am in Kitchener, Ontario.

I would love to have a dwarf palm of some sort (6-8 ft tall and some nice ornamental grasses (ie. malepartus?).

Takle it easy on this beginner, but help with a stepped approach.

THANKS in advance, and I can't beleive this string has been going for over 2 years!

http://www3.sympatico.ca/onmedic/DeckWork2.JPG

http://www3.sympatico.ca/onmedic/DeckWork1.JPG

Cheers!

Comments (4)

• OnMedic
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Oh ya, the back of the house has Southwest exposure, so it gets full sun from around noon until sunset. VERY hot back there during the summer! I will be working on a way to use the heat created by the hot tub during the winter to warm the area where the tropical plants will be planted, but lets not make that a factor yet, at which point I may be able to look at z7'ish plants easily I assume.

• don_brown
    19 years ago

Congratulations on your beginnings! You're going to have lots of fun with this project! Now here is a list of plants you might want to begin with:
    Miscanthus sacchariflorus (floridus) - a very tall perennial grass...looks a bit like sugar cane
    Hibiscus moscheutos-- the "dinner plate" perennial hibiscus with giant blooms
    Musa basjoo-japanese fibre banana which is root hardy with lots of winter protection
    Trachycarpus fortunei--Chinese windmill palm...very hardy and may survive winter with protection in your area