Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kbmtholly

overwintering a few plants

kbmtholly
19 years ago

I'm new to overwintering plants and really in need of some advice. I have some elephant ears. Alocasia, and Colocasia. I see the typical green Colocasia year after year, so I know it's somewhat hardy here. I also have a couple diffrent ones like black magic, nancy's revenge, and rhubarb. I'm pretty sure these are only marginaly hardy here, if at all. So I would like to leave some in the ground, and keep some overwintered just in case. I already have some started in containers. I'm pretty sure they will go dormant in the house, so should I keep them under my house? Should they be kept moist?

I also have alocasia porto dora, and ?macrohizza?. Will these make it as "houseplants" through the winter. I also have some Hedichium ginger that I would like to continue growing this winter. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments (5)

• randit
    19 years ago

I would think that many of these plants would overwinter in your clime???.. I have overwintered a number of less hardy Alocasias, colocasias in the garage. We pull the pots into the center of the garage, and basically, let them just go completely dry. I would be careful NOT to overwater the pots...you may cause rot. Left outside, my macrorhizza and portadora have come through with a small amount injury, from one 11 degree spell we had a couple years ago (these are protected,and dry, under Oaks).

• Josh
    19 years ago

I agree with Randy T that most if not all would be hardy for you. I live just barely in 8A and grow most of these plants in containers so they really have harsher conditions than if in ground. I tuck them under eaves and keep barely moist. I bring in Colocasia Black Magic to enjoy inside.