Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robins1stgarden

Looking for a tropical plant similar to a croton

robins1stgarden
10 years ago

Hi everyone. I've been working on my tropical garden for a few years now and recently, I vacationed in the Dominican Republic and fell in love with all the beautiful plants there. I have since found the plant "Croton" (i believe) here in the states but they do not survive the winters in the ground here in S.C. (zone 7). I really want to plant something like it here. Does anyone know of anything with a similar look that is hardy in zone 7? Here is a picture of the one I have now but it has to be in a pot and brought in for the winter. I want to plant something like this in the ground. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks , Robin

Comments (8)

• bill_ri_z6b
    10 years ago

I don't know of any that have the brilliant colors of croton, but there is Aucuba japonica, which I have here in zone 6 so no problem for you. The leaves are similar in size and form, and it holds its leaves all year round. While not having the brilliant reds or oranges of croton, there are several different varieties having splashes, spots or streaks of gold or yellow or cream with the green. I'm sure if you search the Internet you'll find plenty of photos. One called "Picturata" has a lot of yellow with green edges.

{{gwi:5901}}

• poaky1
    10 years ago