Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dissmith

Best banana for shade?

DISSmith
17 years ago

I have been building my tropicalesque shade garden over the summer and have a perfect spot for a banana plant. I'm hoping someone can tell me which variety would do best in shade? It's not "dense" shade but the only actual sun is late in the day and filtered. (and someday I hope to gather enough knowledge to be the one answering the questions instead of asking so many! Thanks.)

Comments (9)

• gurley157fs
    17 years ago

I am a beginner to bananas but since no one has answered yet I will tell you what has worked for me.

Before I planted mine I looked at pictures of other peoples bananas that live in this area and visited a few private gardens.

'Almost' all of the tropical looking plants seemed to do best in at least dappled shade. My bananas have at least some shade at some point during the day. They all recieve some morning sun but then are sheltered from sun or get just dappled sunlight the rest of the day.

The only tropical type plants that I have in full sun are cannas and elephant ears and datura. I have the following in full or part shade:
    A couple of types of ginger
    Four different bananas
    Root beer plant
    Brugamansia

Sorry I don't know the correct name for the root beer plant - there are a couple of things called that.

I also have some other tropical type plants in shade but don't know the names.

It seems to me that our full sun here in this part of South Carolina just seems to be a lot meaner than in some other areas. Many plants that usually are planted in full sun don't seem to mind at least a little afternoon shade.

• DISSmith
    Original Author
    17 years ago