Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

Hello, newbie here. Could I get help with a Cana?

meyermike_1micha
11 years ago

Hello everyone. I had no idea this forum even existed after all these years. I have always wanted to give my yard a tropical look and never knew how.

I wonder if it can be done here in zone 5?

I am in LOVE with the black elephant ears and I have some growing now. It's the only tropical thing I have growing in my yard right now. I have thought of a hardy palm that does not grow that big, but not sure what kind.

My problem is that I do not know when to dig elephant ear up and how to store it. Any advice would be greatfully appreciated.

Thanks so much. I hate to see this plant go once the frost comes:-(

This is one of the most majestic plants I have. Nice and black with that rich green color as they darken right along the side of my pond. Oh, how I will miss it.

Thanks so much for looking.

Mike

Comments (7)

• poaky1
    11 years ago

I posted the same question sort of. If I don't get an answer I'm going to wait until frost ruins the foliage and cut at ground level and mulch heavily with straw/fall leaves until spring. I think that is right anyway, I just asked in case someone has something better to suggest. I am zone 6 you are 5. Unless you get below zero F alot, I would try the cut down and mulch around the crown method. I am gonna use straw and fall leaves, wood mulch may hold in too much moisture. My zone 6 is warmer than it should be the last 7-8 years. If your zone 5 is frequently below 0 F you will probably need to dig up the roots/tubers.

• miketropic
    11 years ago