Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kypalms

Over-Wintering

kypalms
15 years ago

hey you all this is my first time posting here, I live in Louisville, Kentucky, and I have a Sago Palm, 4 Chinese Fan Palms, a Pygmy Date Palm, and I just ordered 2 Musa Basjoo's. I know I cannot leave the Pygmy Date Palm outside all winter here, but I was planning on keeping the others outside all winter with some protection. Is this possible? Should I keep the Musa Basjoo's potted indoors untill spring? It usually doesnt get below 5-10 degrees here and most of the plants will be shielded from the wind. For protection, I was planning on wrapping the Fan Palms in Burlap and putting a layer of leaves/pine needles inbetween that and the Palms, and for the Musa's and the Sago, I was going to cover the bases with a good layer of mulch. Thanks for your alls help.

Comments (3)

• rusty_blackhaw
    15 years ago

I'd bring everything indoors.

Sagos can handle a few degrees of frost, but anything except possibly a large well-sited plant will not take 5-10F without severe damage or death (and southern Kentucky can occasionally dip down well below zero; I've experienced 20 below in Lexington). Chinese fan palms have survived winters in your zone with good protection/mulching, but can be expected to be a shadow of their former selves if they make it. Musa basjoo will handle zone 7 winters if well-established before frost, but newly ordered plants are another story - I recommend overwintering them in a frost-free location at this point, preferably a cool windowsill-type environment.

• planterjake
    15 years ago