Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunsetsammy

My humble Canadian attempt

sunsetsammy
16 years ago

Hello all,

My second summer growing bananas and tropicals on Vancouver Island, British Columbia. We had a cool, rainy summer this year. The temps didn't get very high very often so I was surprised that I had as much growth as I did. I guess I'm just growing for foliage as I'm still learning and not even sure if I could get fruit in these parts. I've learned ALOT this year. Thanks to many of you for information and inspiration . (Boca Joe, JurassicDarryl, Johnnieb, etc.)

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden photos summer 07

Comments (11)

• holly_bc
    16 years ago

Sammy that looks FABulous! What a great job you have done - particularly considering our *weather challenges*. Please please let me come and see next year. :-))

What are you going to do with your Ensete? Are you going to try to baby him/her thru the winter? Mine is in a pot rather than in the ground so I'm thinking to cut him/her down, bring the pot into the garage, cardboard the bottom (unheated garage) and pray. :-))

Also where did you obtain the Amazonica -- I've found Coloc/Alo hard to find even in Nanaimo. But then again perhaps I wasn't in the right place at the right time. CT certainly has improved their general selection over the past couple of years for tropical type stuff.

Three cheers -- GREAT job.
    Holly

• shellfnq
    16 years ago

Hi Sammy,

I'm originally from Vancouver, Washington, but live in Australia now. Your garden is amazing...it could be here, in Far North Queensland, in the tropics. Amazing! I periodically try to grow stuff that is more suitable for the Pacific Northwest area, like lilacs, or dry climate herbs like rosemary, and they usually fall over from rot. Although my sage plant does look amazing this year.

It will be really interesting to see if your plants can winter over. What will you be taking indoors?

Michelle

• sunsetsammy
    Original Author