Return to the Tropicals Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
HAVE: cacao beans

Posted by romando 9, sunset 17 (amanda.azevedo@juno.com) on
Sun, Jan 15, 06 at 13:00

Make me offers! I'd especially love passiflora, plumeria, or just something really pretty!
Amanda 'romando'

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: HAVE: cacao beans

They have to be VERY fresh for them to be viable.

o

I just bought them last week at a local Latin market...
Amanda 'romando'

o

Hey Amanda,
HAve you had any of these seeds to germinate? I have never tried them before.
Susan

o

Amanda, I live near Hershey, Pennsylvania. (home of Hershey chocolate!) A few years ago, there were cacao plants for sale at Chocolate World. I asked about their growing conditions and was told that first of all, you need a male and a female plant in order to grow beans. Secondly, the plants grow to enormous heights in the jungle, and no one has a greenhouse that tall! In other words, they had no idea why they were selling the plants at all and they recommended against buying them.

However, since you live in a very warm zone, give it a try. I'd love to hear how it goes for you... Jill

o

Do you have any cacao plants? I have lots to offer.

o

I just planted about 50 cacao seeds, and the first ones have started to germinate. So even though I don't have any cacao seeds left, if you are interested in cacao seedlings, remind me (send me an email) in a month or so and I could ship you some seedlings in a pot. Although shipping would be more expensive than sending seeds.

o

i have passion fruit seeds, which have germinated perfectly for me, if you have any cacao seeds or seedlings i would love to trade

o

I have Cassia alata , Cassia bahamensis, jatropha multifida and False roselle seeds. I would like some cacao seeds.
Thanks in advance
Barb

o

could i get some of those from you for sasbe or trade i have seeds for trade please look at my list.i can send you a variety pack of seeds for some of those if you would like

o