Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wiguy12

Coffee Plant Help !

wiguy12
12 years ago

Hello everyone!

I have been growing my coffee plants for four years now, and have re-potted them multiple times, however they are long overdue for another one. I was curious if anyone else grows them (or tries to grow them for coffee beans). I am trying to make a custom blend of soil for the plants, and they desperately need some kind of fertilizer as well. They are browning at the leaf margins, starting at the edge of the leaf and working in, as well as general yellowing of the leaves, with occasional brown patches on them. I read an article on the native soils that coffee grows in, and they say that rich volcanic soil is the best for them. Is there a way to re-create this? I have been making bio-char to add as an additive to the soil I will be making, hoping that the carbon rich and dark colored material will benefit the plant. Thank you for any help you can give, I will try to update pictures for you as well!

Comments (14)

• john_dr
    12 years ago

Hi,
    I grew coffee in the last place I lived just north of Sydney, NSW, Australia. It grew in my back yard in a fairly sandy soil. It produced a good crop of berries which the birds would eat when they were ripe. I think most plants will adapt to a varity of soils and conditions as log as you pay attention to the basics water (less in winter) good drainage, protection from frost if it is a problem in your area.

• wiguy12
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Can you recommend a soil mix for coffee? I have even heard that different sands make a difference, some people use silica sand, but I do not know how well this does. I would like something that resembles the tropical soil, and not something like MG, but I am open to anything. Thanks for the help!

• wiguy12
    Original Author
    12 years ago