Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
john_ny_gw

Learn how to clone

john_ny
15 years ago

Tissue culture workshop. Las Vegas, March 14.

Here is a link that might be useful: Workshop

Comments (4)

• coconut_palm
    15 years ago

I have a Bachelor of Science Degree in Agriculture, and I can honestly tell you, DON'T CLONE! It is Frankenstein "science" and is causing all sorts of unexpected problems in humans as well as nature. It is causing heretofore unknown allergies and is wiping out the bees as they visit cloned and genetically modified (aka genetically TAMPERED WITH) fruit and vegetable flowers! Don't do it! It's not legitimate agriculture!

John

• john_ny
    Original Author
    15 years ago

The cloning (tissue culturing) that I am talking about has absolutely nothing to do with genetic modification. It's, basically, just producing, and rooting, lots of tiny cuttings.

• don_brown
    15 years ago

You are quite correct, John. Any form of vegetative reproduction, whether artificial or natural, is "cloning", and, in itself, is not at all harmful...........unless, of course, one cloned countless thousands of a species such as to obliterate genetic diversity......but that is an improbable extreme.
    Genetic manipulation is a completely different kettle of trouble, and we have the untouchable mega-corporations such as Monsanto to thank for that. Artificial genetic manipulation is just plain sick as far as I am concerned. Inserting fish genes in a tomato or producing sterile corn is straight from the X-Files!

• chironex
    15 years ago

Coconutplam,
    Please cite references in support of your claims. A categorical denial of all cloning is a bit over-the-top and extreme to say the least. Lumping cloning and genetic engineering/modification into the same category is irresponsible at the very least.