Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silverwolf5

Dead Cocoa Tree?

silverwolf5
13 years ago

Hi.

I bought last year a small cocoa tree about 1 year old and planted it on my garden, it went very well during spring and summer and even procuded lots of new branches with broad larger leaves than those when it arrived.

Now in winter it started to go all brown and all leaves curled and has a "dead" aspect on it.

I'm new to this things, but my question is, will it sprout again in spring like other trees? Or is it real dead?

It has no fungus nor it appears to be diseased. Is there any way to check if it's still alive? Are cocoa tree deciduous?

I live in north of Portugal (snow here is extremely rare), bought it from the Canary Islands (Spain). The seeler told me it was aclimatized and was sitting outside, not in a greenhouse.

Thanks.

Comments (11)

• ohiojay
    13 years ago

Zone 9 without protection? The seller had a distinct advantage by keeping the plant in a container. When it did get cold, he could bring the plant indoors...whether he admits it or not.

If you experience low temps, even one night unprotected will do it, your tree will get fried. If you nick the bark and it is still a bright green, you have a small chance the tree will recover. But you must protect it for the remainder of winter.

• mango_kush
    13 years ago

cocoa trees are not sub-tropical, even down here they get scorched in the winter, I cant imagine one surviving a zone 9 winter. they are also understory trees so like filtered sunlight

• karyn1
    13 years ago

The seller definitely mislead you. There's no way a cocoa will survive even close to freezing temps.

• silverwolf5
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I will try to nick the bark to check it. Is there any prefered point to do it without harming the tree?