Return to the Tropicals Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
ID help Please and Care Info on new Plant

Posted by jojosplants Az Z9 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 23, 10 at 14:59

Hi,
I'm new to tropicals! (and house plants in general) I was Home Depot today and just couldn't resist this plant! It was so different!! Kinda reminds me of a moose or elk. Any help with it's ID and care would be greatly appriaciated! The first picture is it on top of my printer, to kinda give you a idea of the size of this plant! And the "brown table" is a TV tray.

Thanks!
JoJo

Photobucket

Here's a close up of a leaf with the sun, it has interesting viens.

Photobucket

Photobucket

It's growing out of this really odd paper like pod!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ID help Please and Care Info on new Plant

Hi Jojo,

The plant you have has a common name of elkhorn fern and is a native of the eastcoast rainforests of Australia. Normally it is grown as an epiphyte on the trunk or branch of a tree. I think it should be in a bright but out of direct sun and fed with half strength fertilizer fortnightly in the growing season. Do not over water in the winter otherwise the crown may rot. Another common fern of this type is the staghorn fern.

Good luck as it may be hard to keep this plant in an airconditioned home as it likes a bit of humidity.

Hope this helps.

John

o

Hi John,
Thank you for your help!
Hubby came home, took one look at it and asked if he should put a tag on it..LOL~

My cat isn't too sure what to think of it either. :)

I'm in Tucson, Arizona, fairly low humidity compared to the rest of the country. It does get up there in the summer.

We don't have AC in our home, so maybe it will do O.K. It was actually raised in a nursury here in AZ too, so it's fairly used to this climate.

You live in the one place in this world I would visit, if I wasn't afraid to fly. ;)

JoJo

o

Oh my God.....I always wanted an Elk Horn to hang on my walls...lol