Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hevykevy420

I have no clue what I'm doing with Crotons.

hevykevy420
16 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to plants. I've always been great with the lawns, but plants are way more finicky and I'm just learning all the ins and outs. I'm also from NJ and still trying to figure out what does not die under my watch with this Tx climate (read...everything).

I live in Austin. I planted 3 Crotons in the back facing the South last fall. Plenty of sun in the afternoon there. I planted them because they looked great at HD and I thought they were really nice looking and it said "full sun" on the tag. In the summer, my backyard gets tons of the strong afternoon setting sun, so I'm trying to go with plants back there that can take the heat and direct light.

Well, it got down into the 30s a few times this winter, and ALL the leaves wilted on the Crotons. I mean ALL. I snipped them off with a scissors, but the formerly glorious crotons just look like sticks now! Are these things dead, or will they ever come back? From my minimal searching for croton on here, it seems they don't like the cold. Tx sux because it gets cold at least a few weeks but it is soooo hot in the summer I can't keep anything alive :( Please let me know if these things need to be dug up and sent to the graveyard or not. Thanks for your help in advance!!

Comments (5)

• User
    16 years ago

Crotons are tropical plants that will suffer both from frost and excessive, arid heat. (Think southernmost Florida and beyond.) If they were not severely damaged, is possible they still have some life in them. If the stems are still firm and green, you can transplant them up and move them inside to a frostfree location.