Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenthumb_5

Papaya care/advice

greenthumb_5
12 years ago

Since my papaya is in my greenhouse for the winter, the leaves that are new are drying up quicker than the older bottom leaves any one know know why? I really love my papaya tree. Help me Please

Comments (8)

• RichinAR
    12 years ago

I'm assuming it's in a container? If so, how large is it? I'd be interested to know how old the tree is, and if it's borne any fruit yet? Is it getting as much sunlight as before going into the greenhouse? Is your greenhouse tall enough to warrant planting it inside and leaving it there year round? Also, papaya is a very heavy feeder; are you giving it plenty?

• sandy0225
    12 years ago

I've not had much trouble with my papayas in the greenhouse so far, they've dropped a few leaves but all the ones they dropped were at the bottom, not the top. I grew mine from seeds last spring, so I'm not an expert. The ones in the greenhouse are in 4" pots and very rootbound. The ones in the basement under the grow light look better but they're potted bigger into one gallons and about 2 feet tall.
    I've been using 200 ppm of 20-10-10 about once every 2 weeks in the greenhouse during the winter. 20-20-20 pretty much every watering in the summer.
    Maybe you should pull one out of the pots if feasible and see what color the roots are?

• greenthumb_5
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Mine is in a large container about 3 ft wide 3 ft deep and it is around 4 ft in a 12 ft tall greenhouse and getting daily nutrients like fish emulsion and other supplements. It did try flower but never flowered or borne any fruit it is a bisexual and it is around one year old. It is getting the same amount of sunlight as before. The roots look healthy and white (I just dig around 5 in. down.)

• RichinAR
    12 years ago