Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sanketi

no leaves on my mango seedling..pics posted

sanketi
17 years ago

i have trying to get some help over the past week ,but responses seem pretty slow over most threads..anyway i am posting this here since i felt this was relatively more active...i am a newbie at gardening ..and taking instructions from here i planted a mango seed 4 weeks back ..and although it has sprouted and grown tall ,there are absolutely no leaves on it...another one also the same situation although still small.. am in zone 7b ..i am posting some pictures ..please advise..thanks

http://picasaweb.google.com/sanketi07/MangoUpdate

Here is a link that might be useful: mango

Comments (4)

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    17 years ago

Hello, welcome to Garden Web! Sorry no one has come in to help you, I will have a go! (I live in the UK and think I am zone 8).
    I started mine on 16th Jan and I too found that it was several weeks before any leaves showed. On saying that, I've had a look at your mango pic and to me it seems as though it may be short of light as the stem looks exceptionally long and thin. Once the sprout showed above the seed I gave mine full light. The leaves are really tiny, thin and delicate to start with and reddish in colour. It seems from what I have read that mangoes grow some stem, then a set of leaves, then some more stem and so on. Here's a pic of mine taken on 28 Feb, with another seed ready to plant....

This pic was taken on 26th March

Today, one month on from last pic, it looks exactly the same apart from a tuft of 6 or so new leaves that's just showing, so, they certainly take their time.