Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluespiritartist

Caladium help?

bluespiritartist
14 years ago

I am just learning about Caladiums, and I'm falling in love with them! Could any tell me if I buy the bulbs and grow them, will they develop more bulbs? I would like to grow them inside during winter, but am not sure they would handle 50 degrees indoors. If anyone can help me understand them alittle more, don't really want to spend the money if they wont do well here. The ones I mostly want are: Red Flash, Stardust and Phrayaa Kamphut if that matters on the variety. Thank you to any help.

Comments (6)

• bodiggly
    14 years ago

Caladiums will multiply, but in temperate zones they are treated as annuals. Also, they go dormant in the Fall. You could then try to dig the corms and store them over winter.

I am originally from the Carolinas and we just bought new ones each Spring.

• gusolie
    14 years ago

Blue, caladiums resent cold (even cool) soils, so growing them in the winter is usually a waste of time, even as a houseplant. If you keep the soil warm and moist indoors that time of year, they will never create as lush of a clump of leaves. Compared to a clump growing in summer, a winter clump with have less than half the number of leaves, and they're often be on shorter stems and have smaller leaf blades.

Caladiums grow from tubers (flared storage stems that are underground). You will find that after a growing season the tubers will be significantly larger with small branches that may be cut off and babied to become new plants. These tubers do not create bulbils like onions, tulips of daffodils.

In nature, caladiums (regardless of species) are usually seasonally dormant in winter, which in the tropics is the dry season. They are root hardy in zones 9b and warmer, but still go dormant in dry or cool soils, not sending up their new leaves until the spring soil warms considerably.