Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cjhodge

Getting a Bird of Paradise to bloom.

cjhodge
17 years ago

I have a BOP I bought last year. It was small, maybe in a 1/2 gal pot and a foot tall. I potted it last year in a 16" or 18" pot and it lived outside until winter. It came in and sat in front of a south facing window all winter and went back outside this spring. It has grown 3 new leaves that are huge. I'm new to the tropicals. :-) I have been fertilizing it this year with a 5-5-5 indoor plant fertilizer that you sprinkle on top of the soil.

When do these bloom? Do they have to be a certain age? Pot-bound? Certain size?

Thanks.

Casey

Comments (12)

• stressbaby
    17 years ago

I finally got 2 blooms this year on my BOP after 4 years. Mine has countless leaves extending out to total width of over 5 feet, in a 24" pot. The key is patience.

The white BOP is different and unless you have a 20' high GH, getting it to bloom in IL will be nearly impossible.

SB

• cjhodge
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I can't remember for sure what I have. I am pretty sure it is a white one. I bought it at Lowe's last summer. It has put on 3 new leaves this year that look great! It might be 36inches tall now. I have been reading on here the average height before they bloom is 7-8'? I wish I had a greenhouse, but I don't. I like the foliage, but getting it to bloom would be nice. Is there anything special these guys need to grow? I water and use a basic fertilizer on it and it get full sun now.
    Thanks
    Casey

• User
    17 years ago