Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
restless_gw

Angel Trumpet leaves turn yellow and fall off

restless
16 years ago

Hi;

I have an Angel Trumpet in a pot. I have been growing this for 2 years and it is 9 feet tall with beautiful blossoms. I have alway's watered it morning and night with 1/2 teaspoon Miracle-Gro per 2 gal. water. The leaves have started to turn yellow and are falling off. Tried 1 teaspoon Epson salt per gal. water a few day's ago. Did this once, no change. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks;

Restless

Comments (13)

• buyorsell888
    16 years ago

Check for spider mites.

• sandy0225
    16 years ago

That's what angel trumpet leaves do, fall off...lol...if they're not falling off then the thing must have died. It might be rootbound, the light might have changed, it might have been too dry, the temps can cause it, drafts when the plant is inside, spider mites, whiteflies.
    If it's not buggy, change it into a new pot and fertilize it after about two weeks.

• karyn1
    16 years ago

It's common for the older foliage to drop. Are you feeding it with every watering? I feed my brugs once or twice a week during the growing season but not daily. I also use epsom salts once a month. My large brugs are in 25 gallon containers. Is your brug droopy when you water it? If not you might be giving it too much water which can cause the foliage to yellow.
    Karyn

• restless
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi;
    I would like to thank everyone for your help. I don't know how I over looked mites. That seems to be what it was after buyorse11888 mentioned it, I took a better look. I sprayed the plant 24 hours ago and it already looks better.
    Restless

• rosepedal
    16 years ago

What do we spray the anger trumpets with for spidermites Barb

• rosepedal
    16 years ago

Thanks for the information. I am a newbie. 100 species that is awesome. I have a baby datura cream and sugar that is my prized plant for the year.