Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etlerto

Help! My Tamarinds are dying...

etlerto
10 years ago

Hi!

Could you help me!

My Tamarind trees at home begins to wither for no reason. In a few days they die.
My Tamarinds are about 3 months and I keep them under the floral light for about 12-14 hours. I water them every two or three days depending on the dryness of the soil.
I don't know what to do.

I will very appreciate your help!

Comments (6)

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    10 years ago

Do those pots have any drainage? Or after watering, do the roots sit in wet, soggy soil?

• sf_rhino
    10 years ago

I've not grown tamarindo before, but I have had some bad experiences using those biodegradable pots. I don't know what the deal is with them but I often get drooping/wilting plants for no discernible reason.

I didn't link it to the pots until one time when I had a couple of dozen seedlings with about half in plastic and half in peat or fiber pots. All the plastic plants thrived and all the peat/fiber plants wilted. All had similar moisture levels. I repotted into plastic and was able to save about a third of the wilted guys. The symptoms were similar to overwatered plants but I would have thought that the peat pots would give more air flow. Salt accumulation in the pot material? Fungal problem?

Obviously this may not be your issue, but perhaps try repotting into something else. Maybe flush the soil a few times and then not water as much. If the plants are waterlogged the additional light might not be helping.

r

• tropicbreezent
    10 years ago

I'd agree with the others about too much water. Also, what climate are you in? if it's a bit cool there then wet conditions would affect them more quickly. Tamarinds like it hot and can cope with a bit of dryness.

• etlerto
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank for you help!