Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tintin002

Pineapple babies?

tintin002
16 years ago

Hi all, 2winters ago i've started over 10 pineapples from crown. and on 2nd spring, 3plants produce fruit. And here's the question, what is that little crown like on the stem? (under of the fruit) and also crown like coming out on the side of the mother plant. Are all those babies? and if they are babies, how do i seperate it from the mother plant? and how do i replant it? And will the mother plant ever produce fruit again? That's all the question for now :)

Thanks; Tin

Comments (4)

• Tarvus
    16 years ago

Congratulations on your fruiting pineapples! I had 50 odd plants fruit this year (4 different varieties). I've been growing pineapples for about 7 years now.

To answer your question, the small crown looking growths at the base of the fruit are called "slips". You can plant them and propagate new plants.

The growth coming out of the side of the plant is called a "sucker" Leave the most robust sucker on the mother plant and it will usually fruit again the following year. Remove the others and plant as separate plants.

You may also notice pups growing from the ground at the base of the mother plant. These are called "ratoons". They can be dug and transplanted as well.

Finally, you can replant the crowns from the fruit you pick.

Good luck with your fruit! I like to let mine totally ripen on the plant before harvesting, but this year it was a race with the possums and racoons that ruined 3/4ths of my fruit before I could pick it! I finally started picking well before half the fruit had yellowed. Not ideal, but at least I beat the varmints to the pineapples! Still beats the heck out of store bought fruit!

• tintin002
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks tarvus!

i now have a few more quetion, :)

The "slip" do i seperate it now, or until i harvest the fruit? and when i do seperated it, do i let dry and cure the bottom, or just plant it right away?