Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susan_zn8

Question about Jackfruit

susan_ZN8
18 years ago

I got two jackfruit from the Asian market yesterday..when i cup open one...it wasn't fully riped as expected...Does any one know how to ripen a jackfruit. Thank-you for your help, Susan

Comments (20)

• night_breed
    18 years ago

Hi Susan

I'm assuming you bought the fruit for seeds?
    If it hasn't ripened enough the seeds may not have developed enough and you won't be able to grow them.
    To a certain point the fruit needs to mature on the tree.

Cheers, Troy

• Lee
    18 years ago

try to keep in brown bag for a few days in cool spot.. not to refrigerate.

• Eggo
    18 years ago

Jackfruits will for the most part not ripen off the tree. Sometimes they are picked too immature and therefore you get a bad fruit. It also seems to not ripen evenly too and you get parts that are immature. I usually buy the ones that are sliced already since I'm not good at picking out a jackfruit. Some stores will sell small immature jackfruits because those are used for cooking. 2 jackfruits? That's alot! how big were they?

• susan_ZN8
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank-you everyone for your input...
    Hi Eggo, Each fruit was around 32-33lbs ...I thought for that size it would be mature fruit...I will take your advice and pick them already cut next time.I was fortunate enough to get my money back from the store manager for one of the Jackfruit..The other one, i didn't know what to do with it except to take out the seeds and boil them..(one expensive bowl of seeds-$65).........thanks, susan

• Eggo
    18 years ago

Yikes 2 30lb fruits!! I hope you werenÂt planning to eat it all yourself. hehe
    Lots of time its picked a little immature for shipping purposes. It sucks! Not much quality control when it comes to certain tropical fruits.
    The sliced ones are always much more expensive but at least you know what your getting.

• gcmastiffs
    18 years ago