Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrisofkalimantan

Complete novice seeks help and advice

ChrisOfKalimantan
10 years ago

Dear Any and All,
I'm a recent university graduate on a first job out in West Kalimantan. This being West Kalimantan I have a HUGE garden (12 hectares) as well as three gardeners. My gardeners are exceedingly green in all things bar the fingers. Unfortunately I find myself with an equally deficient level of experience, knowledge and general expertise.
There is a fair amount grown locally, kasava, papaya, some mango, some pineapple, rice, corn, durian, rambutan, some carrot, very rarely I can get tomato, lots of chilli, and a huge variety of anonymous green leafy stuff that is edible if cooked for long enough.
Given I have such a huge garden I'd like to try to broaden what I can get locally. I've tried my own tomatoes which did hugely well until they all got killed off by what I think is bacterial wilt just before the bulk of them fruited. I got nine tomatoes from 86 plants. To be fair they were nine delicious tomatoes but I'd still rather have been inundated to the point of having everything with salsa. I am currently trying some peas which were doing great before I most recently went on leave but mostly died while I was away (I don't think they were watered at all). I have had a little more success with these though as I have already had ten yummy pods off them and they're not all dead yet!