Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ifraser25

Calla lily ( Zantedeschia)

ifraser25
10 years ago

How much shade will Calla Lily tolerate without affecting the flowering? Our climate is generally pretty sunny.

Comments (6)

• tropicbreezent
    10 years ago

I'm surprised that Calla will grow there, it doesn't do any good here.

• garyfla_gw
    10 years ago

Hi
    Have that problem with callas . Start out well and then tend to waste away over the seasons.. Guess they require a cool/cold rest period as they are quite common to the north of me Similar reaction from Dahlias ,Agapanthus ,hardy orchids gary

• ifraser25
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Many "cooler" species ie. Dahlia, Agapanthus, Indian Azalea, and Camellia do well here. Fuchsia is on the limit. It flowers but not profusely. I think the altitude (1000m, 3000ft) is the main factor. I have never tried Callas before but they are really easy to grow from seed and I have a couple of dozen fist-sized plants, so I thought I would give it a shot. I'm told they need rich, moist soil, which we do not have, but I'm preparing an area specially. No-one is answering my question however, how much shade...?

• ifraser25
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Many "cooler" species ie. Dahlia, Agapanthus, Indian Azalea, and Camellia do well here. Fuchsia is on the limit. It flowers but not profusely. I think the altitude (1000m, 3000ft) is the main factor. I have never tried Callas before but they are really easy to grow from seed and I have a couple of dozen fist-sized plants, so I thought I would give it a shot. I'm told they need rich, moist soil, which we do not have, but I'm preparing an area specially. No-one is answering my question however, how much shade...?

• alisonoz_gw
    10 years ago