Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kes_cor

Coffea arabica Culture

kes_cor
18 years ago

I have been growing this coffee plant for about three years. It doesn't seem to do much but loose leafs! Anyone have any success with it? I have it in a gallon container, the leafs curl a bit and there are three branches. I am giving it a Western exposure during the winter months, and outside during the summer with about 6 hours of direct sun.

Comments (18)

• gcmastiffs
    18 years ago

They are usually fast growers. A 1 gallon pot sounds much too small for a 3 year old plant. They like dappled shade, lots of water (but good drainage) and lots of fertilizer.

Mine are currently in 3-5 gallon pots, under other trees. I will put them in the ground soon.

I haven't had leaf loss with mine. How often are you watering? Do you use any type of "grow-lights" when it is indoors?

I never tried to grow one indoors, so hopefully someone else will speak up.

Lisa

• stressbaby
    18 years ago

I just ordered two plants, so I am interested in this topic. Is there a prefered growing medium? CHC/peat versus plain Promix? SB

• northtexasgirl
    18 years ago

I was given one in a 10 gallon pot and it has already doubled in size since I got it. I never knew they would grow that fast. I have mine in sun/shade and it must love that spot. I make sure the soil is moist at all times. I hope I will have the pleasure of seeing it bloom and then the coffee beans.

Leona

• redbeard92
    18 years ago

I've one for about 3 or 4 years, bought it as one of those 4" tall $2.99 grocery store plant. It's now about 4' tall and starting to branch.

In the winter it sits in a fairly low light area and has a bit of lower leaf drop. From Late April till mid October it's outside in dappled sun for about 3 hours a day, never in full sun.

It took a full years cycle to really start to grow from its innitial state.

Rob

• stressbaby
    18 years ago

Rob, what growing medium do you use?
    Robert

• redbeard92