Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karen_pease

Graft survival chances?

Karen Pease
12 years ago

I have a small cacao tree, about 1 to 1.5 feet tall. If it was necessary to do so for shipping purposes, do you think it could survive being cut and then re-grafted together? I've rooted plants but I've never done a graft before, so I don't how how difficult it is to do right.

I also have a medium sized (~5 foot) mango tree (Turpentine rootstock, Carrie scion). Simply cutting and regrafting this tree wouldn't do the trick as it would for the cacao -- it's simply too big for my purposes. Do you think it would be possible to harvest a major root from the rootstock and graft that to a branch? The other alternative would be to try to root a branch. I've heard that mangos are difficult to root and don't develop good root systems if you do so. Any clue how bad of an idea it would be to try this?

Comments (8)

• jsvand5
    12 years ago

I'd say your chances are pretty much zero if I am understanding what you are thinking correctly.

• hmhausman
    12 years ago

I would love to respond to your question.....but I do not understand it. Could you re-phrase it? Are you asking about mango, cacao or both? Are you thinking of grafting, airlayering, or rooting a cutting or all three?

Harry

• Karen Pease
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I'm asking about two different plants -- a small cacao and a meedium-sized mango. I need to transport them within small containers, smaller than the size of the plants. I'm looking for any method to do this. For the cacao, I was considering cutting it then re-grafting it at the destination. For the mango, even that wouldn't work, as it'd still be too big; hence I was asking about other alternatives.