Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rtees_garden

Is this too late to use as scion?

rtees_garden
12 years ago

To all the mango grafters out there.

Are the buds on the top of this plant too "pushed out" to use as scion for grafting? I have a lot of experience with stone fruits and if it were one of those I probably would not use it, but I have never grafted with tropicals or sub-tropicals.

I know it is not the best time to try, but with this warm weather we have been having here in Southern CA all the trees I planted last summer and fall have decided to push out new growth. If I do try the graft I will put the plant in my heated seed sprouting house to keep it warm until the spring.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Richard

Comments (8)

• behlgarden
    12 years ago

I second that question. My Mango tree is pushing for growth as well. I intended to graft some Maha Chinook borrowed from MangoDog but I was told to wait until Feb/Mar.

Lets see what experts have to say.

• sleep
    12 years ago

Looks good to me.

• adiel
    12 years ago

Richard, looks like you have a good plan. The ideal time would be to wait till warmer weather. But if you are saying its not too cold right now (as in not colder than 80-85F during day and night) then give it a shot. When done grafting, bag it up and put it in a warm area and keep us posted.

Adiel

• jfernandez
    12 years ago

Richard