Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amandapanda920

I love this forum!

amandapanda920
15 years ago

Hi Im a newbie of this forum but Ive been hanging around the exchange/trade forums(I LOVE THAT FORUM TOO) for a few months lol (thanks to Jay for pointing me in the right direction) I have so many questions I cant possibly get them all out right now, but at least I know I am in the right forum to get answers :) I have ALOT of tropical seedlings all around my house, under grow lights, in sunny windows in the dining room,kitchen and everywhere I can squeeze them (in the process of making a greenhouse) I live in North Carolina (zone 8) so itll be a few months before I can get them all outside, I pretty much grew everything from seed but I just cant get certain things to germinate! Heres a list:

custard apple

sugar apple

soursop (I was praying and begging this one to come up)

barbados cherry

tamarind

star apple (caimito)

Should I just give up and just spend the money on the plant and shipping? Its hard for me to give up,I love a challenge but this is ridiculus :)

Comments (12)

• jsvand5
    15 years ago

The hardest thing I have found about germinating many tropical seeds is actually getting fresh ones. Most seeds I have tried to order from various places come in dried out a dead. The only places I have had pretty good luck with are Fruitlovers in Hawaii, and Montoso in PR. If I were you I would just go to Pine Islands website and accept that you are going to be paying off your CC bills for a LONG time. That's what I did at least. I could send you an Abiu seedling in the spring if you're interested as long as you cover the shipping. That is one of the few that I ended up going with seedlings instead of a larger plant because they grow so fast and the trees are insanely expensive for some reason.

• amandapanda920
    Original Author
    15 years ago