Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jalilu

Weak Young Keitt Mango Tree

jalilu
11 years ago

Hi,

I am new at growing mangos and I hope someone could answer these questions.

Is it normal that a young Keitt mango tree is bowing down and can't stand vertical without stakes? Should I prune right above the lower bunch of leaves or a bit higher, to make the trunk stronger and start shaping the tree at the same time? Can this be done now or by the end of winter? Thanks.

Comments (21)

• mangodog
    11 years ago

Hi Jalilu - The keitt mango is a very spindly tree from my experience. I used to tie up all the spindly branches like you did, and then when I stopped doing that and let them just fall as they may I got more vertical growth believe it or not!

It's true though, they kind of grow like a weeping willow, so don't dispair, it is acting the way it's genetics dictate....

One of the most delicious mangoes, too, in my book....

MangoDawg

• jalilu
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you MangoDawg! My only concern if I untie the trunk is that d%/@ easterly wind, which gusts can easily exceed 60 mph and damage the plant. What if I prune it somewhere between the lower bunch of leaves and the tag, to make it stronger?

Jalilu

• stanofh 10a Hayward,Ca S.F. bay area
    11 years ago

I would would keep it tied to at least under the first leaf--to protect the graft from snapping or being damaged.

Mangos do best once you get them in the ground. The tricky part Jalilu is,if they haven't knitted a good rootball...it could ALL fall off the roots and do a major shock on the tree if not kill it getting it out of the pot.
    You have to decide what you think is the best time.

• jalilu
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hello Stan