Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bevo2000

Guava leaves turning yellow indoor

bevo2000
14 years ago

Hello all,

This is my first year wintering my guava. It is in a big pot and placed at a south facing window for plenty of light. I only water it if the leaves appear to wilt (the water drains quickly from the pot).

Some of the leaves are turning yellow, and I am worried that I may have been watering too much. I want to keep it alive until April so I can take it outside. Please let me know if there's anything I am doing wrong.

Please see the pictures below.

1) Guava

2) I only add water if the leave about to wilt like this

2a)

3) Leaves turning yellow at bottom of plant

Thanks,

Dustin

Comments (21)

• User
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I wouldn't worry about it. I have had the tropical guava loose ALL its leaves and it would leaf out again in early spring (not that I would recommend that!) I usually keep mine very dry in the winter (just to the point of leaf wilt). Also have to keep mine cool because it's got to overwinter in a garage due to its size. Try to keep it on the humid side and avid proximity to indoor heat sources. Good luck!

• jsvand5
    14 years ago

Where do you live? I see you are in zone 8 . Maybe you could take it outside for some sun during warmer days?

• Andrew Scott
    14 years ago

I wouldn't worry either. Itlooks like it is just the lower leaves turning yellow. If that is it then you should be fine. I don't know the watering requirements for guava but you should google it. Water requirements differ with each tropical fruit and some are more specific then others. I say this because I almost lost one of my tropicals because I did the same thing you did. I didn't water until it was almost dry and I almost killed it!
    Andrew

• hmhausman
    14 years ago