Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
littleluey

My Manila mango tree

littleluey
14 years ago

I got a mango tree a few days a go from Lowe's and after looking at it at home I notice there is no graft point, that I could see anyway. Are these wild mangos? The tree came from La verne nursery and someone mentioned to me that he had the same thing on a tree and it did fruit after two years.

does anyone have experience with their mango trees?

if it is a wild mango there is a chance it may not fruit or not taste right, it kind of defeats the porpuse of having one.

I contacted La Verne nursery but I am not sure they will answer my e-mails since they say they don't sell to the public.

Comments (24)

• puglvr1
    14 years ago

Hi littleluey, congrats on your new mango tree! I don't grow this one but if I'm not mistaken, from what I've read Manila mangoes are (polyembryonic ) and grow true from seed and doesn't need to be grafted? I am no expert, but hopefully someone that grows one will be able to confirm this for you.

• ohiojay
    14 years ago

Sorry...I believe you have a seedling. If you look at their website and click on the "AVAIL" tag at the left, it takes you to a spreadsheet of available plants. Go to the bottom and click "page 2". The mangos are on the right. They have what looks like two selections under Mango...the Manila, and then a bunch listed under "Grafted Mangos", which include: nam doc mai, timotayo, thompson, tommy atkins, valencia pride, haden, keitt, glenn.

Personally, I would take this as meaning the manila is a seedling. Page 1 of the spreadsheet has a phone number for the nursery. You could certainly call the number and find out for sure. But if they tell you it is a grafted plant, I would then ask why it wasn't included with the varieties listed under grafted mangos. I would also point out that you have failed to discern a graft union on the plant.