Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnyh13

wilted coffee plant with yellowing leaves

donnyh13
10 years ago

Hello all,
I am wondering if any of you could give me a hand?
ill start from the beginning,
back in October I acquired a coffee plant, about a foot high with another 4, 3 inch tall coffee plants growing around it.

the big 1 foot tall one and a couple of the 3 inch tall ones did quite well until November/ December, in which case the big one started wilting and produced a yellow leaf here and there, I thought "must be dry" so I watered it and it came back to life. wilted again about a week later and repeated the same thought, then It finally clicked that, OH all of these plants are trying to live in this pot it came with that is only 3 inches wide, perhaps its too small. So I upgraded it to about a 5 inchs ish (forgive me im not good at guessing measurements) clay pot, I thought ok all is well.

The plant acted quite a lot better after the move but after about 2 weeks the same process began again, so I thought "must be too many plants fighting for the same water", so I separated all of the plants into individual pots leaving the large coffee plant (which had a surprisingly small root ball, compared to how tall it is) in the big clay pot, they wilted a little but after the move and a good watering, the big one perked back up and I thought hallelujah its going to live, but to no avail it just keeps on wilting and occasional dropping a yellow dried up leaf leaf however the yellow leaves have decreased in occurrence. But it has one now as you can see in the attached picture.