Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hawkeyebri

Obsessed with Rambutan/ mamón chino please help

hawkeyebri
14 years ago

Hello all, I am new to this forum but my love for Rambutan has me searching for answers anywhere i can find them. I am living in the Chicago suburbs and cannot find Rambutan anywhere (except canned in certain Asian fruit markets). Ever since my trip to Costa Rica last year where i first tried Mamón chino/ Rambutan i have been obsessed with it and have tried finding it everywhere. Alas i have a feeling no place in Chicago have this delicious fruit and am considering an indoor grow. I'm wondering if anyone on this forum has had any success growing a small plant (non greenhouse) and their yield/ time for success. Since I am a beginner grower, I'm sure this idea might be comical to some, however i don't know what else to do to get this yummy fruit, therefore any help would be greatly appreciated. Also if anyone knows where i can buy fresh (non canned) Rambutan in the Chicagoland area that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Comments (18)

• ohiojay
    14 years ago

Unfortunately, obtaining this fruit remains difficult. There are certain times that it is offered in some markets and grocers. But what I've seen does not come close to resembling a fresh rambutan. Hula Bros in Hawaii offer fresh fruit at certain times of the year. It is expensive.