Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andrew_scott77

Growing a grafted cherimoya in a pot.

Andrew Scott
13 years ago

Hello everyone,

I ordered a grafted cherimoya from Roger Meyer. He only takes checks so what I did was sent him a check and I told him that when he got the check I would decide if I wanted a Pierce or Fino de Jete. I have no experience with cherimoya. I was just happy to finally be able to get one after looking for so long. I know that it needs to go in a pot that matches the size of the roots and the height of the tree itself. Beyond that, I really don't know anything else. My question is what kind of soil does it need? I know not to fertilze it for a while, I will wait at least for a month. I know the tree needs full sun. What kind of fertilizer works best? I know most of the people in CA grow these in the ground. I was reading up on the cherimoya on cherimoya.com and got some usefull info there. I found it interesting that the cherimoya doesn't grow in Florida(At least that is what the site said.), I guess S. California is the main place where these fruits grow. Thanks for any help you can give me.

Andrew

Comments (42)

• tammysf
    13 years ago

Andrew. Cherimoya is considered sub tropical so i found more info in the fruit tree forum at gardenweb as well as on cloudforest.com. look for axel he has a ton of info on cherimoyas ( and apples)

• red_sea_me
    13 years ago

Most any soil should be fine so long as it drains well, use a balanced (organic) fertilizer I have a 10-10-10 pellet that I apply once a month, regular water. I've had them in 5gal and 15 gal they seem to grow fine though every few years you need to dump the out, trim the roots and replace the soil. Maybe next winter for fun try grafting a piece onto your sugar apple and see if that reduces it's growth rate?

-Ethan

• jsvand5
    13 years ago