Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
cactus food for dragon fruit plant?

Posted by ashleysf 9 San Jose, CA (My Page) on
Fri, May 7, 10 at 17:28

I am also new to dragon fruit. I just got one and intend to leave it in its pot until next year. I want to know if I should give it some cactus food since I already have some and since it is a cactus, i thought why not? Anyone tried cactus food on dragin fruit before? Thanks for your help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: cactus food for dragon fruit plant?

I've used Schultz cacti and Cactus Juice(?) with no problems. I can also dig out a recipe for making your own that works fine. Plus a small pinch of organic granules isn't bad either.

I do believe in mild but constant ferts as opposed to a big amount every once in awhile.

good luck,
-Ethan

o

What is the N-P-K ratio on the label? It shouldn't hurt your plant but your fertilization schedules should depend on what you want your plant to do and what time of the year it is. If your plant is small and you want it to grow vegetatively this season, maybe a fertilizer with some good Nitrogen.

It is close to DF flowering season here in California so if your plant is large, I would recommend giving it an organic fertilizer high in P-K.

I would guess that normal cactus fertilizer is quite low in nutrients. Remember that DF is treated more like a crop.

o

• Posted by dghays Z10A FL Brevard (My Page) on
    Fri, May 14, 10 at 9:49

I never fertilized mine that much, but agree a slow release would be good. I would foliar spray them now and then, they did quite well.

Gary

o

i dont really focus much on fertilizing mine either, they grow by themselves.

i may throw a handful of granular once or twice a year in their corner.

o