Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tapiocabug

Carambola and yellow leaves

tapiocabug
11 years ago

Hello,

I have a Kari carambola tree that is worrying me. It's my first time taking care of a tree, so I'm not really sure what I'm doing... I might be over-watering - I have trouble knowing when it needs water.

It keeps having lots of yellow leaves, and every other day or so it drops fruit. It is still putting out a ton of flowers (which the bees love) and has new leaf growth, but the yellow leaves worry me. Today it looked ok but the leaves looked a little wilty (as did the marigold and buckwheat growing in the same pot), so I watered a little bit and 8 hours later when I came home there were a bunch of yellow leaves!

It's in a large pot (not sure how many gallons - it's a 24 inch resin pot from Home Depot), which rests on a paver stone. It gets full sun for about 6-9 hours a day, and it's blocked from wind on one side by a wooden fence and a wall of trees and vines. It was fertilized about a week ago with 10-10-10.

Any advice on how to know when it needs water? What is more likely to make yellow leaves - over or under-watering? How much is "enough" water for an approx. 6 foot tall carambola in a 24 inch pot?

Thanks,

Sarah

Comments (5)

• gnappi
    11 years ago

Carambola show water stress when they are real thirsty. If you look at them the leaves fold to conserve moisture. Generally they should NOT get that bad.

Yellow leaves are normal drop off for even a healthy happy carambola. For watering guidance, most recommend wiggling a finger into the soil, if it's dry 1+" down, water the plant.

• phxplantaddict
    11 years ago

Mine always turn yellow when overwatered. Even here in Phx Im watering container starfruit about every 4 days, and its 110. These seem to like to dry out about between waterings. They get a little wilty when needing more.

• sbrowning76
    11 years ago

Hi Sarah,