Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best method for grafting Rambutan?

Posted by rayandgwenn z11 Puerto Rico (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 24, 10 at 10:30

I am new to all types of grafting so I need some advice.
I have a rambutan seedling that was growing out of control. I dug it up and killed about 90% of it's roots (not by choice but necessity) and topped it to about 4 ft tall. It has 2 trunks- one is about 1.5 inches wide, the other about 1 inch. Amazingly, it is doing fine in a pot and sending up new growth.
So now I want to graft some of my R162 onto it. The R162 is in flower now, but I can take some branches that haven't flowered or wait until a better time.

Any hints? Best method to use? Timing? Size of scion?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best method for grafting Rambutan?

You have the best circumstances you could ask for. You have a plant in a container which can be moved and you have a plant that is known to flower near by. I would do an approach graft... a lot lower down than 4'. This is the easiest and safest grafting method. If the graft should fail, this method will leave both plants alive so you can try later. You'll need to secure the seedling plant in a manner so that the scion will easily reach and match up with the trunk. You will need to decide which trunk to eventually keep and which to sacrifice. In fact, I would remove one of them just prior to you grafting...will help direct all the energy into the remaining trunk. For an approach graft, you should theorectically be able to use any size scion you want. Just make sure the two pieces match up nicely without having to over tie to close a gap. Take some pics and good luck!

o

OK- I think I will try it.
I found Brian Brunner's info on it, and approach grafting looks like it "should" work.
I don't have the heart to chop either trunk yet...so I will try it with the 2 trunks, and do both, but one at a time.
I will post pictures of my experience.
Wish me luck!

o

Ok- I did it: