Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julia42

Thinning fruit on a small mango tree

julia42
11 years ago

I have a mango tree (Nam Doc Mai #4) that's very young and has set a lot of small fruit (probably close to 100). I bought it last spring and planted it in the ground. Early this spring, I decided that I had chosen the spot poorly and dug up the tree and potted it. It then flowered and set a ton of fruit, obviously way more than it will carry. It's only about a 3' tall tree. It has about a 1.5" diameter trunk, with four scaffold branches where it was pugged.

I've read that mangoes will self-thin by dropping fruits they can't carry, but I'm wondering if it would be beneficial for me to thin some of the fruit early, since there's so many. Should I thin to 1 mango per branch (this would mean about 10, which I'm guessing is still too much), or 1 per scaffold (4), or maybe just a couple total? Should I just leave it alone and see which fruit drop on their own? I'm pretty new to this.

Thanks!

Comments (15)

• BestDay23
    11 years ago

I'm pretty new to this also but that sounds like a small tree to carry any fruit. We'll have to wait and see what the more experienced people say.

Bill

• julia42
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Well, I went ahead and thinned the fruit yesterday. I just figured it would save the tree some energy. I thinned to the 2 largest fruit per branch, and then I'll thin further once they've grown a little more and I can pick better. I'd really like to let it set at least 1 or 2 fruit.

• mangodog
    11 years ago

Julia - where do you live? If you are in SoCal or some place without the long growing season of say, Florida, I would advise to take them all off, as it sounds like it is a grafted tree. I just did with most of mine because this developing of fruit takes ALL the energy of the tree until they are picked.