Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abayomi_gw

The Mango Diet

abayomi
12 years ago

After visiting both Harry's and Fairchild Festival, I have an embarrassing volume of mangoes in my possession which must all be eaten before I land back home. I had to calculate the number of mangoes per day, which I won't reveal in order to not put my love for the mango too far out there.

sure you can guess or else say what is the most mangoes you have eaten in a week.

here I will put some notes on the varieties and my experience with them.

And no, contrary to popular opinion, no issues with my intestinal tract...

it all started at Harry's on Friday eve...(to be continued)

Comments (11)

• sleep
    12 years ago

During the 6 week peak of mango season, I eat at least 10 mangoes per day.

I gained 8 lbs this season :)

• abayomi
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Nothing like company. I'm not up to 8 so i feel saner already...

Mind you size makes all the difference. I just finished eating a big Cushman from Harry. I couldn't eat any thing else in tha sitting. Refreshing smell, sweet pineapplish flesh. Divine especially for a mango of this size.

A few days ago I ate 3 okrung in one session with plenty of room to spare. ( I guess if I was getting technical I should have referred to pounds of mango per day but that is getting too deep.)

• abayomi
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Here is what I have eaten so far. In some cases multiples of the same variety.

Provost - citrus like scent, medium large fruit with small seed, lots of flesh, yellow flesh, light green skin, fibreless, sweet
    Kent - fibreless, sweet, orange flesh, relatively rich, medium size
    Valencia - large, fruity, sweet, can be large (several pounds)
    Okrung - small, disease resistance low, very sweet, rich
    Extrema - rich taste. ÃÂ Excellent, medium to large
    Maha chinook - sweet, small thin seed so small size still yields lots of flesh