Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sbrowning76

Will Makok Sapodilla self-pollinate?

sbrowning76
11 years ago

Gardenweb/tropicalfruits,

I have already learned a great deal from reading this forum, but I have read some conflicting information on sapodilla trees setting fruit. I would appreciate any clarity you can provide.

I have a small Makok Sapodilla that I planted in my small Florida backyard in March of this year. It is happy and growing nicely, and grows new shoots and leaves when I fertilize it--I will eventually prune it so it does not grow over 12ft. I am not an expert at fruiting trees, however, and I did not know some trees require cross pollination. I have been plucking any flowers that appear to encourage the tree to grow leaves and roots, so I am not sure if flowers would have set if I had left them alone.

The UFL site for Sapodilla trees suggest that some cultivars can self-pollinate, but others not (http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/mg057), unfortunately it does not elaborate. My yard is not large enough to support another Sapodilla, and I'm not growing the trees for the shade, so if it can not produce fruit I would like to transplant it to a happier home. Does anyone with more experience in Makok Sapodillas have any suggestions?

Comments (7)

• swrancher
    11 years ago

Your Makok Sapodilla tree will fruit just fine by itself. Plus I'll bet there are other Sapodilla trees in your neighborhood.

• irun5k
    11 years ago

I concur, I have a tree the same size as yours and it is setting fruit as we speak. I have not seen another one in my neighborhood (might be one, of course, that I haven't seen.) Mine is in a large pot for now, so I am not focused on tree growth at this moment. That is why I'm letting my set fruit.