Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Novice in mango planting

Posted by bigangellover none (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 28, 13 at 0:36

Hi all,

I'm a total novice in gardening. I'm hoping to find an organic mango tree that is easy to grow. I talked to the nursery and they told me that manila is easy, but Valencia Pride and Kent are sweeter. I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestion on the variety. So I need something 1) easy to grow 2) produces well 3) won't grow too big 4) maybe grow to a canopy like tree 5) sweet (!!) and not too fibery.

I live in southern california near Long Beach btw. Any suggestion is appreciated. Thanks!!!

Wendy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Novice in mango planting

You can do a search on Cogshall, Pickering, Glenn & Maha Chanok to name a few. These are not known for being large trees...Glenn is a medium size, the rest are dwarf/semi dwarf. You can prune them yearly to keep the size in check...

Kent and Valencia Pride are both very good varieties but grow pretty large...

Below is a list of a few Condo Mango varieties, there are several others out there...many to choose to from. Good luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Pine Island Nursery

o

I'll add Carrie to the mix. Not large; delicious and no fiber.

o

Hi Big - yeah the manila is easy to grow but the fruit is just OK COMPARED to the Valencia Pride which has delicious fruit and grows very fast. The Kent is delish too, but doesn't grow as fast - just like Glenn. Keitt would be a late season variety to plant - also delish fruit and amoderate grower for me.

If you want (and have the room) to plant the Valencia Pride, it will become a large tree with very good fruit. Glenn and Kent and Keitt(at least in my yard) grow at about the same pace . All these mangoes are stellar tasting - can't go wrong with any of them.