Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marinfla

Looking for Feedback on the different Varieties of Jackfruit

marinfla
12 years ago

Rob very kindly shared some Mai-3 Jackfruit seeds with me that I am currently in the process of germinating. I've had no experience with or exposure to Jackfruit. I have been online for hours reading many threads and am planning to go this Friday to get some to try it for the first time. I have never tasted it before so I am hoping to get some feedback from the experiences you all have had to help me decide one other variety to plant in my front yard and if I should even consider it. From all my reading I already know the crunchy type would be my preference.

I would be grateful for your opinions comparing the fruit differences and the growth habits. From all that I have read I think I would really enjoy jackfruit.

THANKS! Marin

Comments (12)

• gnappi
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I don't think you can rely on other people's taste buds. I've tasted just OK jackfruit, and some that were really spectacular. My son doesn't like JF at all and he generally likes what I do.

That said, I bought one ( a Gold Nugget) that I've never tasted because a just OK JF is better than most other fruits :-) It also grows pretty fast... see my post earlier this month

• marinfla
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I actually did see it. That was quite a haircut Jay gave his jackfruit. After all the reading I have done about Jackfruit I came away with the idea that bangkok lemon may be the same as crunchy lemon. That bangkok lemon or one of the Mai varieties may be my best choice but then I am seeing the names of all these other varieties that there is little info available to read about them. SO I am open to read about everyone's experiences... while they may be very subjective they will help me feel more informed when I make a decision.

• bsbullie
    12 years ago